Understanding Usui Reiki

usui reikiMany people have heard of the hands on healing known as Reiki, but most people do not know about its origins, or about the fact that there are several different types of Reiki. If you’re interested in getting to the heart of the matter and understanding both where Reiki came from and which method is closest to the original, consider learning more about Usui Reiki.

The Origins of Usui Reiki

Reiki was first created in 1922 by Mikao Usui, a Japanese Buddhist. Usui claimed that during a spiritual revelation, he gained the insight or power to apply and attune other people to what he called Reiki. Usui claimed that this power entered his head at his crown Chakra, and that it was necessary for him to put his hands on the person to direct and channel it.

Shortly after his revelation, Usui moved to Tokyo where he founded what is called Usui Reiki Ryōhō Gakkai, or Usui’s Spiritual Energy Therapy Method Society. Usui used this society to help teach and spread the word of Reiki. Usui Reiki was originally taught to more than 2000 people, and approximately 16 people went on to complete their training at the master, teacher level. Usui Reiki is at the base of every type of Reiki being taught today.

Before Usui died, one of the 16 students who went on to become masters, Chujiro Hayashi, approached Usui and asked to start a simpler method of Reiki. Usui agreed, and this became one of the first offshoots of Reiki that began changing the original techniques of Usui Reiki.

Usui Reiki Today

Reiki today is divided into two loose groups: Japanese Reiki and Western Reiki. Both are very effective methods, but Western Reiki is subtly different than the original Usui Reiki created in 1922. The differences lie primarily in the method of application.

Usui Reiki and many other types of Japanese Reiki use an intuitive approach to applying the hands. Western Reiki, however, uses a systematic approach. Both methods recommend becoming certified in the first degree and certified in the second degree, if not going on to complete a full master training.

The Styles of Usui Reiki

Just as there are many different branches and styles of Reiki, there are also a few different types that define themselves as Usui Reiki. These styles encompass both Japanese and Western methods of practice, and differ from one another in several ways.

Japanese Usui Reiki

The original Usui Reiki known as the Usui Reiki Healing Method Learning Society is still in practice today. No one knows much about this particular style, and if it is identical to the original taught by Usui himself or if it has changed over the years simply because the society is closed to the public. Some members of the society have recently begun to speak out and share their knowledge with the world, but even so, little information about this style of Reiki as it has survived to the present day is known.

Western Usui Reiki Shiki Ryōhō

One of the most well known methods of Reiki in the Western world is Usui Reiki Shiki Ryōhō or Usui’s Spiritual Energy Style of Medical Treatment. This type of Reiki was first introduced to the Western world by Hawayo Takata.

Takata was originally trained in Reiki by Hayashi, who had established the simplified version of the original Usui Reiki. Upon completion of her training Takata set up a clinic to practice Reiki in Hawaii. Following the Second World War, her practice began to spread throughout the Western world. At this time, Takata decided to simplify the method of Reiki even more in order to make it easier to understand for Westerners.

This method of Usui Reiki has persisted, staying fairly close to the teachings of Takata ever since. It is taught today through the Reiki Alliance, which is led by Takata’s granddaughter, Phyllis Lei Furumoto. This method of Usui Reiki has three levels – first, second, and master degrees – and this method is accepted as the norm or standard for Reiki for practitioners looking to get licensed in the UK. When many people think of Reiki, or decide to take a course in Reiki, this is the system that is probably being thought of.

Western Usui/Tibetan Reiki

The third style of Reiki usually referred to as Usui is Usui/Tibetan Reiki. This method of Reiki has some similarities with the Usui Reiki founded by Takata, from which it is derived. It was founded by Arthur Robertson, and was later popularized by two of his students. This method of Usui Reiki has several different integrations that set it apart from the original, such as the Violet Breathe, Kundalini fire symbols, and physic surgery. This method is much more complex than the more traditional forms of Usui Reiki, and therefore there are four levels or degrees of mastery – first, second, Advanced Reiki Training, and Master/Teacher/.

Due to the fact that the US Federal Trade Commission has found physic surgery to be a hoax, practitioners of this type of Usui Reiki may undergo more scrutiny than practitioners of other styles. This method of Reiki is typically less common or well heard of than others, but encompasses many more belief systems and “total body” methods of healing, including the Microcosmic Orbit, a type of Chinese Traditional Medicine that focuses on energy within exercise for healing.

Get Informed

Whether you choose to have Usui Reiki performed on you as a method of healing, or you intend to pursue a Reiki training course to become a healer yourself, make sure that you stay informed as to the various types and styles of Usui Reiki. While the method founded by Takata is by far the most popular and prevalent forms of Usui Reiki around, there are other versions that may not have the same effect or that may lead to some confusion. Make sure you investigate the origins of whichever practitioner or practice you choose to visit to ensure that they match up with your expectations. Stay informed and make the most use out of your Usui Reiki practice, either for healing yourself or for healing others.