LinkedIn Remove Connection: Removing People From Your Network

linkedin remove connectionLinkedIn is one of the best social networks for promoting your business or yourself to prospective customers, clients, and business partners. However, it can also be an annoyance if certain connections try to take more from you than they give.

From spammy messages to unsolicited invitations, the numerous annoyances of an active LinkedIn presence can quickly add up. In this guide, we’ll cover the LinkedIn remove connection feature and show you how to downside your personal network.

Ready to start? If you’re searching for expert advice on how to build and maintain a LinkedIn network that works for and not against you, enroll in LinkedIn Essentials to learn the A to Z of succeeding on LinkedIn.

Why might you want to remove LinkedIn connections?

LinkedIn can be an excellent tool for business networking. If you spot a connection of a friend or business partner that you could help (or that could help you) it’s easy to add them to your network and communicate.

However, LinkedIn can also be used for the type of annoying, spammy networking that’s exploded in popularity as social media has grown. From unsolicited emails to plain annoying invitations, some LinkedIn connections are far from helpful.

There’s also a privacy aspect to LinkedIn that many people are unaware of. When you connect with a person on LinkedIn, they gain access to your personal contact information, including your phone number, Twitter handle, and more.

Do you like LinkedIn? Learn how to be a helpful, productive networker by enrolling in our course, The Magic of LinkedIn. Learn how to network without the people you connect with wanting to delete you from their connections list.

Because of this, it’s sometimes worth removing connections from your network on LinkedIn. Read on to learn how you can remove unwanted people from your online network and enjoy a spam and annoyance-free LinkedIn experience.

Removing a connection from your LinkedIn network

Removing a connection using LinkedIn is straightforward and simple. First, you’ll need to go to the connection’s profile. Once you’re there, navigate to the arrow on the top section of their profile to prompt a dropdown menu to appear.

In the menu, you’ll find an option that says Remove Connection. Click it and you will remove the connection from your profile. You may receive a prompt explaining the effects of removing a connection after you click the button; if you agree with it, click Remove to finalize the connection removal.

Cleaning out your LinkedIn profile from time to time is a great way to get rid of any old connections that you no longer keep in touch with. It’s also an important way to weed out spammers, annoying sales reps, and other people that try to bug you when you log in.

Do you want to remove several connections at once? LinkedIn makes it easy to trim away unwanted connections en masse. Navigate to the Contacts tab, which you’ll see in the Network section at the top of your homepage.

From here, filter your list of users by Connections Only and check the boxes next to any connections you’d like to remove from your network. Return to the first profile you checked for removal and click the More button.

After this, you’ll see an option to Remove from Contacts. Click it, follow the prompt on the screen, and confirm that you understand what will happen by clicking on the Remove button to finalize the contact removal.

Are you an entrepreneur? Attract advisors and investors for your startup using the advice in our How to Use LinkedIn to Find Startup Advisors blog post.

Designing a LinkedIn profile that attracts the right people

Did you know that it’s easy to avoid a lot of the spammy, annoying side of LinkedIn by redesigning your profile and selecting connections that offer value rather than simply view you as another person to market to?

One of the easiest ways to reduce the amount of annoying invitations and spam you receive from LinkedIn is by avoiding networking with LinkedIn Open Networkers.

Open Networkers, known as LIONs, are users that allow anyone to connect with them, regardless of whether they have connections in common or not. Most open networkers are normal, friendly, helpful people, but some deliberately use their open profile to harvest email addresses to sell to unscrupulous marketers.

Remember that when you network with someone, they gain access to important personal contact information like your email address, your Twitter username, as well as, in certain cases, your phone number or Skype handle.

Another great way to limit the amount of spam you receive on LinkedIn is by being very careful about the groups you join. Many LinkedIn spammers abuse the Group Message feature to spam members of groups they belong to with business offers, “make money online” courses, and other annoyances.

Finally, a surprisingly effective way to stop spammers and opportunists from being able to connect with you is to leave a short message on your profile letting everyone know that you aren’t interested in unsolicited business proposals and offers.

Want more helpful tips for optimizing your LinkedIn profile? Enroll in our Mastering Your Profile on LinkedIn course to learn the best ways to attract converting traffic to your professional profile.

Blocking a LinkedIn member from viewing your profile

Sometimes business relations go sour, and the best option is to completely remove a contact from your professional network. In the last few months, LinkedIn added the ability to block users that stalk, harass, or spam you with unwanted messages.

Blocking a user from your LinkedIn profile has several results. You’ll no longer see or be able to message each other on LinkedIn. You also won’t feature any previous endorsements or recommendations from that connection on your profile.

Like removing a connection, blocking a member is fairly simple. Go to the profile of the user you’d like to block and navigate to the down arrow in the header section of their profile.

Once you’re there, click Block or Report and select the Block option. You’ll need to read a prompt on the next page explaining what happens when you block another user. Once you click Continue, the user will be removed and blocked.

Using LinkedIn as it should be used

While annoying salespeople and unethical spammers can make certain aspects of LinkedIn a pain, the social network itself can be very valuable for professionals in certain industries looking to grow their careers and find new opportunities.

Do you want to enhance your LinkedIn experience? Enroll in our LinkedIn Master Plan to learn how you can use LinkedIn to enhance your career without any of the annoyances that can compromise the typical LinkedIn experience.