Delete LinkedIn Account Without Any Hassle!

Delete LinkedIn AccountFinding a job is no joke these days, and it comes as no surprise that most people turn to the Internet for help.  You hear your friends say, “Join LinkedIn, I’ll add you!”.  So, you join, you go home, browse through profiles, and begin adding away.  Flash forward a few months: you have had a few (but unsuccessful) interviews, networked with some interesting (but unresponsive) company execs, and (most importantly) been insanely annoyed by LinkedIn.  Why?  Well, you feel like it basically turned into a online forum for people to flaunt their skills and success — which is great, but there is no need for you to spend your time browsing through this — at least not right now.  Time to do some deleting.

Unfortunately, creating or signing up for anything online will prove to be a hundred times easier than it is to actually delete it.  Often times, sites do not even have a tab or page for deleting instructions, and you are left to e-mail their customer service department or help center.  Before you get your resume in crumble, we are going to help you through some simple steps of deleting your LinkedIn account.  Do not worry about un-friending, un-following, or unsubscribing — just, delete it.

Steps For Deleting your LinkedIn Account

  1. Log-in to your LinkedIn account and click on your username in the top right corner of the page.
  2. There will be three options.  Click on “Privacy & Settings” on the drop-down menu.  LinkedIn may ask you to sign in again for privacy reasons.
  3. Under the “Account” tab on the left sidebar, you will notice a number of options.  Click into “Close your account”.
  4. LinkedIn really wants to know why your leaving, and will ask you for the reason that you want to close your account.  Think hard and carefully, or not at all, and choose an option.
  5. Next, it will give you the option to “Verify Account” or “Cancel”.  Click on “Verify Account”.  You will also see a little message above the ensure you that you can create another account on LinkedIn with the same email addresses that you may have used on the one you are closing.
  6. On the next page, you will have the option to “Close Account” or “Cancel”, in case you want to back out at the last minute.  Click on “Close Account”.  Note that LinkedIn may take up to 72 hours to entirely close your account once this process is complete.

Other LinkedIn Options

If there are other things you want to do with your LinkedIn account to make it more user-friendly, we have some solutions for you on that end as well:

Merging Accounts:  If you have two LinkedIn accounts under the same email address, there is actually a way that you can merge the two.  However, you are going to have to contact LinkedIn directly (by email or phone) and ask them to do this for you.  Unfortunately there is no way to do this manually from the website.

Canceling Premium: If you decided to pay up for a Premium LinkedIn membership, but no longer want it, you are able to delete your premium membership while still keeping your account intact.

Hide A Connection: Sometimes there are just some things we do not want other people to see.  If there is a professional contact that you wish to hide from your profile, you can delete a connection.  We are not responsible for whatever stir this un-friendly may cause, however.

Advertising: Social advertising is always annoying.  Unfortunately for you, LinkedIn’s default setting allows it full access of your image.  LinkedIn has the privilege of using your images in ads to promote its company.  If you do not want this to happen to you, your only option is to delete your account entirely.

Cons of LinkedIn

If you are still on the fence about deleting LinkedIn, here are some common groans about the site.

  • No Privacy:  You will end up editing and tweaking you resume or cover letter in front of everyone.  If you like public attention, then this is great, but it can also be embarrassing.
  • Job Searching with a Job:  If you are linked to your current employer on LinkedIn, and you are searching for a new job– things could get weird.  This is self explanatory: you either have to use the site wisely and discreetly or not at all.
  • Endorsing Contacts:  There is a good chance you have never worked for, with, or under any of your friends or people who you are connected to on LinkedIn.  You want to make them sound good, but you really do not know how!
  • Invites:  Just like Facebook, you might start receiving LinkedIn invitations from people you went to college with, or even high school.  These types of connections are better saved for Facebook, as they may or may not be in any way professional.
  • Profile Views:  You will be able to see exactly who has viewed your profile.  While this is great, that just means that people will know when you have viewed their profile…
  • Email Spams:  LinkedIn has become notorious for e-mailing you for every little thing; especially a little service known as “LinkedIn Premium”, which, by the way, is not free.
  • Other Statuses:  LinkedIn will email you whenever someone you are connected with has updated their profile, their career, or their status.  This can encourage career envy and becomes annoying after awhile.

Cutting The Ties

At the end of the day, getting a job should not encompass flipping through other people’s career profiles or skill sets all day.  When you are looking for a job your focus should be: you.  You should be working to make your resume and cover letter stand out, while perfecting the skills you need for the positions you want.  LinkedIn will not necessarily help you in this area, unless you are relying on connections.  So go ahead and make the cut if you find that it is in the best of your interests, and continue on with the job hunt.