Chakra Colors – Using Colors to Balance the Chakras

chakra colorsTantric tradition teaches that there are seven levels, or energy points, found on the body that allow an exchange of energy between the physical body and the spiritual body. These points represent the intersection between body and mind, or matter and mind, and according to eastern philosophy, the health of these points is essential for overall health and wellbeing. Each chakra is associated with a sound, color and symbol. Colors and sounds are both examples of vibration. Vibrational medicine is based on using vibration or vibrational energy, to help improve health through the removal of energy blockages within the chakra system. Color therapy, meditation and mantras are all believed to be part of energizing the chakra systems to support health and improve various conditions associated with the blockage of energy.

If you are interested in the chakra system and would like to learn more about each chakra and how to balance the chakras, the 7 Day Yoga Routine: Increase Energy & Balance Your Chakras  is aimed at the beginner and will teach you about each chakra and how to balance it. The course is based on a holistic approach to energy healing. It will teach you how to balance the chakras through meditation, yoga postures, journal writing and breathing techniques.

According to vibrational medicine, there are seven chakra systems within the body. They are called:

·         The root or base chakra

·         The sacral chakra

·         The solar plexus chakra

·         The heart chakra

·         The throat chakra

·         The third eye chakra

·         The crown chakra

The Root or Base Chakra

The root or base chakra is found at the base of the spine. It represents the grounding forces and our connection with the physical or with earth. The base chakra or root chakra is normally associated with the color red. This chakra relates to our basic survival and needs and it is essential to ensure that this energy center is open and that energy can flow freely through the chakra. Blockages of the base chakra often manifest as feeling anxious or worried, feeling disconnected from things and people around you. Blockages can also result in depression related to anxiety.

Color therapy for the root chakra would include wearing red clothing or incorporating the color within your daily life. Incorporating the chakra color can help to energize the chakra center to help unblock energy and allow energy to flow again.

The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is located at the reproductive organ area of the body. The sacral chakra represents our creativity and sexual functions. The color associated with this chakra is orange. The energy associated with this point relates to renewal. The birth of new ideas, the creation of new projects, the ability to nurture and create new energies within our lives are all related to this energy system and blockages in this system often manifest as frustration, feeling blocked, feelings of emptiness or feeling unfulfilled.

Since this chakra is associated with the color orange, if you are experiencing a block in creativity then the inclusion of orange could help to invigorate this chakra and rebalance your energies to allow the energy to flow again.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

Located at the solar plexus or stomach region of the body, the solar plexus chakra is often called the emotional chakra. The solar plexus chakra is associated with the color yellow and this chakra is responsible for our emotional balance. When this chakra is balanced, we feel self-confident and powerful. This chakra is also associated with the manifestation of intentions and desires and when the center is blocked, we may experience frustration or a lack of achievement.

Wearing or incorporating yellow in your environment can help to energize the chakra and allow the energies to flow naturally.

The Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra within the chakra system is referred to as the heart chakra and is represented by the color green. This chakra is located over the heart region of the body. The chakra represents our connection to compassion and love for our fellow man. When this chakra is energized and flowing, we feel connected to everyone in our lives and we feel love for them. When the energy is blocked, we often experience a sense of alienation or a feeling of loneliness. The color green can be used to help energize this chakra to ensure balance and the flow of energy.

The Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is the fifth energy point within the body. This chakra is located at the throat region of the body which is appropriate since this chakra is associated with communication and self-expression. The throat chakra is generally associated with the color blue. When fully energized and flowing, this chakra is responsible for allowing us to voice our opinions and to communicate our ideas and dreams successfully. It allows us to express our inner truth without worrying about what others might think. When this point is blocked we feel unable to express ourselves fully, or we are afraid of what others may think about our opinions.

The Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is also known as the brow chakra is located between the eyes in the middle of the forehead area. This chakra connects us to higher consciousness or spiritual awareness. It is often associated with our intuition. It is linked to feelings of inner knowing and our sense of insight or universal understanding. When the center is blocked we may feel a sense of mistrust or a sense of self-doubt. The color associated with this chakra is indigo and incorporating indigo within our lives can help to invigorate this chakra to balance the energy and allow it to flow.

The Crown Chakra

The final chakra is called the crown chakra and this chakra is located slightly at the top, or slightly above the top of the head. This chakra is associated with our connection to the spiritual or god force. It is associated with feelings of oneness in the universe. It is also associated with feelings of peacefulness and wisdom. The chakra is associated with the color violet.


If you would like to learn more about the chakra system and how to balance the system, enroll in the 40 Hour Transformational Yoga Training and CEU Video Course now. This course offers 57 lessons on yoga exercises for chakras. The course also includes grounding yoga lessons, qi flowing energy exercises, guided meditations, breath-work, nutritional healing and much more. Students who complete the course will have 40 hours towards their 500 hours required for the yoga teacher training certification program.