Chakra Cleansing

guided meditation scriptChakra is a powerful word in Hinduism and Buddhism as well as tantric, yoga and other systems of belief. It refers to dynamic energy points, which are located in key areas throughout our body, near branching networks of arteries, veins and nerves. We have several chakras in all, but there are seven main ones, which are key to expressing our vital life’s energy.

Where does the name chakra originate? It is Sanskrit (the primary sacred language) spoken in Hinduism. Chakras send and receive energy, which is then converted into psychic, emotional and physical energy. If you have too much or too little it can throw off your body’s balance. Just like most things in life, balance is the key to keeping everything flowing smoothly. When the energy flow in one or more chakras is blocked, your chances of developing something physical or mental increase.

Chakra cleansing is about more than just opening the chakras. It’s about maintaining the right balance. For example, if too little energy is flowing through the Root Chakra, which represents our foundation and is located at the base of the spine, we could feel helpless when it comes to the basic needs for survival. Conversely, if we have too much flowing through the third chakra, which governs our self-esteem, we might come off as an ego-maniac.

The 7 Main Chakras

Let’s get to know the main seven chakras and what each one represents and then we’ll address Chakra cleansing.

Root Chakra

This is like the command center for the body and is located at the base of the spine. It’s also referred to as the first chakra. When this chakra is open and clear, energy pours through it freely, giving us feelings of security and confidence. A blockage, however, will lead to feelings of being worried or anxious. If you listen to this chakra, which connects us to the earth, you’re able to detect signals that give you the green light to move forward with a decision, or detect uncomfortable messages, which indicate unsafe waters ahead.

Sacral Chakra

This second chakra is in the reproductive area of the body and is linked to creativity and birth. And by birth, it can literally mean new life but also a rebirth of something creative or a new endeavor in life. When this chakra is on, we’re connected to an energy source that infuses us with the creative juice to paint, write, make music or pursue something innovative and new. When it’s blocked we feel empty inside.

Solar Plexus Chakra

This third chakra is responsible for our will, self-esteem and empowerment. When the energy is free flowing, we manifest every desire with a mere intention. When it’s congested, we feel frustrated and road blocked.

Heart Chakra

This fourth chakra relates to our ability for compassion and love. When it’s open, our proverbial cup overflows with a deep connection for everyone in our life. When there’s a blockage, we feel separated and lonely.

Throat Chakra

This energy epicenter and fifth chakra is located in the throat and drives self-expression and communication. When the energy is free to move without restrictions, we can speak our truth and pursue our dreams without regard for anyone else’s opinion or criticism. When it’s not, we care too much about what other people think, and censor our words and actions.

Brow Chakra, or Third Eye

Located right between our eyes, this sixth chakra guides insight and intuition. It’s only natural to assume that when the energy is blocked, we are filled with thoughts of self-doubt and distrust. When it’s open, we are confident and trusting in our decisions.

Crown Chakra

At the crown of the head is the aptly named seventh chakra and it connects us to higher consciousness and awareness. It’s known as the “Thousand Petaled Lotus,” which bursts open when we experience true enlightenment, or awakening and understanding. A person who is enlightened has mastered the hidden workings of the mind, which keep us prisoners to cravings, needs and suffering.

How Chakras Get Blocked

A good analogy for how a chakra becomes obstructed is to think about a dam blocking the flow of water. It’s like a wall that keeps energy stagnant. Each pent up or unreleased emotion we feel inside our bodies like anger, resentment, guilt or fear, is like a brick in the wall that blocks a chakra. Often times, blockages can exist for years, and be traced back to unmet childhood needs. A child who was never held as a baby can have unfulfilled nurturing needs that inhibit energy flow. If it gets too extreme, the chakra can completely close.

Anytime the outside world contradicts a child’s spiritual gifts, for example a parent who puts down the existence of spirits or visions, the fifth, sixth and seventh chakras can become repressed. As the child grows up and life’s disappointments set in, the fifth chakra can close up completely, cutting of that person’s free flow of energy and inhibiting them from speaking out for what they want.

It’s pretty simple really — when the chakras are working at capacity they are conduits for receiving and giving energy, resulting in good physical and mental health. When the energy is blocked, there is imbalance in the body leading to mental or physical ailments.

Chakra Cleansing

Chakra’s rotate clockwise and each one has a frequency that we see as the seven colors of the rainbow. In newborns, chakras display pure, vibrant color from red in the first chakra to violet in the seventh. As we age, our chakras lose their luster. Trauma and disappointment leave behind a toxic dust that dulls the shine of our chakras. That dust keeps the chakra from vibrating at its pure frequency. There are a few different ways to go about bringing balance back into these vital energy centers.

One way to cleanse the seven chakras can be done as part of our morning routine, but you need to be totally relaxed to do this. With your left hand at the base of your spine, and the right hand three to four inches above the skin, feel for your first chakra. It feels both physical and non physical, and you’ll sense a vibration or warm tingling sensation, and that’s how you know you’ve located it. It might take a few time practicing before you actually find it. Now take three deep cleansing breaths in through your nose and out your mouth. Breathe slowly starting at this first chakra and moving up through each other one. There’s also a process where you actually spin the chakra counter clockwise a few times, rotating your fingertips in a circular motion. Rinse your hands in between each chakra. This exercise is said to increase the speed at which the chakras move, allowing each energy vortex to spin at its optimum capacity.

Forgiveness and Awakening

The other component to successful chakra cleansing is to heal the underlying emotional cause of the problem. This is achieved by extending forgiveness — to a family member, a friend or perhaps even yourself. That’s the only way to clear out emotions that have stagnated inside your body, built up from past wounds and a mountain of little hurts. It’s also the path to a higher form of spirituality. 

After the chakra cleansing, movement and stretches will also help facilitate the movement of energy. Heat will also relax the muscles, allowing the negative energy to flow out and restoring a normal movement of positive life flow. Heat can come from a sauna, a whirlpool or steam.

So just remember, if you want to be happy, it’s all about balance. Chakra cleansing will clear blockages and restore normal energy flow, promoting spiritual and physical health, vitality and wellness.